Alcoholic Beverages

Approved Alcoholic Beverages

Bourbon – Straight (Sour Mash is a variety of Bourbon)

Bookers
Jack Daniels
Jim Beam
Old Grandad
Old Weller
Wild Turkey
Old Williamsburg – must have OU

Gin – All except Sloe Gin and flavored gin
Rye – Straight – All (see Popular Liquors Which Are Not Acceptable)
Rum – requires certification. 
           Bacardi (unflavored varieties) is acceptable without a kosher symbol on the label.   
           Don Q Rum (including flavored) – must have OU
Sake – requires certification.                                                                                                               

ScotchThere are two types of Scotch commonly available, Blended and Single Malt. 
Only those on the list below are approved for use. Macallen Scotch  is not recommended.

A. Scotch/Blended

 

 

Chivas Regal

Johnny Walker (all labels)

 

Chivas Royal Salute

Rob Roy (All)  

 

Cutty Sark

The Dimple Pinch

 

Dewar

White Horse Extra Fine

 

William Grants

 

 

J&B

White Horse Fine Old  

 

  B. Scotch/Single Malts

 

Auchentoshan  

Glenmorangie (10 & 18 year)  

Ballantine’s

Highland Park

Balvenie (10 & 15 year)

Inchmurrin

Benriach

Isle of Jura

Bowmore (only up to the 17th year)

Knockando

Cardhu

Lagavulin

Cragganmore

Laphroaig

Dalmore

Longmorn

Dailuaine Single Malt  

Loch Dhu

Dalwhinnie (all varieties)

Oban

Glenkeith

Royal Coachman

Glen Garioch  

Royal Lochnagar (all varieties)  

Glen Kinchie

Scapa

Glen Moray

Speyburn

Glen Ord

Strathisla

Glen Rothes  

Talisker

Glenfiddich

Tamdhu

Glenfiddich – Solero Reserve (15 years)

The Edradour

Glengoyne

Tomintoul  

Glenlivet (12, 15, 18 & 21 year)

Tullibardine

 

Tennessee Whiskey – All

Tequila – Tequila is made from the agave cactus in Mexico. According to Mexican law any tequila may be labeled 100% agave even though it contains no more than 51% actual agave alcohol!

There are three types of tequila on the market:

1)     Regular-White (also known as Silver) tequila is recommended. This clear tequila contains either 100% agave or a mixture of agave and sugar cane.

2)      Gold-Brown tequila is not recommended. This darker tequila is aged for 3 months and may have color and flavoring added. 

3)      Reposado (“rested” ) (also known as Special) tequila  is not recommended. It is aged for 6 months and in addition to concerns of color and flavoring, glycerin may be added for density.

Some acceptable Tequila brands:

Don Bernardo G (OU)

Salusa

Casavores

Sol Dios Anejo (OU)

Herrudura

Sol Dios Platinum / Blanco (OU)

 

Vermouth – requires certification

Kedem is the only brand readily available with a kosher symbol.

Vodka -All Domestic (USA only) non-flavored vodka is acceptable.  Important:  This applies only to grain or potato vodka, watch for those listing whey alcohol.

The following unflavored imported vodkas are acceptable imports even without certification on the label:

Absolut

Kettle One

Belvedere 

Provda (now has OU)

Chopin

Stolichnaya – (see below for flavored)

Finlandia

Vox

Iceberg (now has OU)

 

Grey Goose

Yevreyskaya

Three Olives (from England)

 

Absolut Flavored Vodka

Is now acceptable only with OU

Gordon Vodkas
The following varieties are cRc certified even without certification on the label: 

Citrus Flavored

Wild Berry

Orange

 

Stolichnaya Vodkas: 
The following varieties are acceptable, with OU on the label:

Cinnamon Flavored

Orange Flavored

Coffee Flavored

Peach Flavored

Gold Premium Imported Russian

Raspberry Flavored

Imported Russian

Strawberry Flavored

Lemon Flavored

Vanilla Flavored

 

Whiskeys – All straight are acceptable

– Canadian                     – Irish                             – Rye

 

The following are also acceptable:

Irish

Seagrams (VO & Seven Canadian Blend, not American Blend)

Jameson

Wiser’s

Jameson

 

Canadian Club – Regular only

 

Crown Royal – All

 

 Wine & Grape Juice
All wine used for ritual use requires Kosher certification, therefore wine and grape juice inventoried in the synagogue must bear an acceptable Kosher certification. The Law Committee of the Conservative Movement permits the use of non-certified wine for non-ritual use. Such wine may be brought into the synagogue for social functions, subject to the following restrictions:

  • Wine must remain in the original container with the manufacturer’s label in tact.
  • Non-certified wines cannot remain in synagogue inventory; therefore, such wines must be removed subsequent to the event for which they are intended.

 Note:  Wine for Passover use must be Kosher certified, the label should clearly state Kosher for Passover.

Beer
All unflavored beers, domestic and imported, with no additives listed on the ingredient label are acceptable, even without a Kosher certification. This applies to both USA and imported beers, including non-alcoholic and dark beers. Many breweries are coming out with specialty brews that have additives; don’t assume that all varieties are acceptable – check the label.

Acceptable Liqueurs & Cordials

Liqueurs and cordials may contain glycerin, cream or flavors as well as other non-Kosher ingredients and require reliable Kosher certification.

Listed items are acceptable when bearing the indicated Kosher symbol.

Advoscotch (OU)
Amaretto Di Sarono (OU)
Ashkalon (OU)
Bartenura Cordials (OU)
Camaya (Kof-K)
Carmel (OU & OU Dairy)
Cherry Kijafa (OU)
Dorado (Kof-K)
Frangelico (OU)
Godiva Chocolate (OU) & (OU) Dairy
Leroux (OU & OU Dairy)
Lords (Kof-K)
Peter Cherry Herring (OU)
Sabra (OU)
Spirit of Solomon (CRC)
Taampree (CRC)